shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

MATCH PREVIEW: Galway United vs Longford Town (Men’s First Division)

Galway United return to action following the league’s two-week break as they welcome Longford Town to Eamonn Deacy Park on Friday at 7:45pm.  

The Tribesmen are coming into this one on a seven-game unbeaten run which dates back to their only defeat of the season which came at the hands of this week’s opponents. United will look to right that wrong this week as they aim to make it three wins in a row, following back-to-back victories against Wexford FC and Finn Harps.  

Longford Town enter this fixture without a win in their last four games, but a draw against second-placed Waterford in that run and their previous success in this fixture will give the visitors some belief heading into Friday night’s encounter.



“We’re back after the break and looking forward to our first game back, and a big crowd getting right behind us. Stephen has done a good job with Longford are the only team to beat us, they’ve been excellent. It’s going to be a very competitive, they’re defensively very strong.”





Galway United 1-0 Longford Town 


Longford Town 1-0 Galway United 

United’s only defeat of the season came at Bishopsgate in the beginning of May which stopped the Tribesmen’s 11-game winning run. Previous to that game at Eamonn Deacy Park, United came away with a 1-0 win thanks to former Longford Town player Darren Clarke breaking the deadlock, just moments after coming on, check out the highlights below.




You can get your match tickets here for the game, starting from just €5: HERE

The game will be streamed live on LOITV, starting from just €5: HERE



Croí is delighted to partner with Galway United FC to become Health Partner for Galway’s League of
Ireland Men’s Team, Women’s Team and underage male and female academy. Through this
partnership Croí will raise awareness of the importance of good cardiovascular health and stroke


2023 SQUAD ⚽️

Brendan Clarke, Conor O’Keeffe, Regan Donelon, Rob Slevin, Killian Brouder, Maurice Nugent, Stephen Walsh, Mikie Rowe, Rob Manley, David Hurley, Ronan Manning, Callum McNamara, Alex Rutter, Vincent Borden, David Tarmey, Francely Lomboto, Evan O’Connor, Colm Horgan, Conor McCormack, Darren Clarke, Ed McCarthy, Aaron Neary, Steven Healy, Mikey McCullagh, Oisin O’Reilly, Ibrahim Keita. 



2023 Goalscorers 

David Hurley – 10 

Vincent Borden – 8 

Stephen Walsh – 8 

Ed McCarthy – 4 

Ibrahim Kieta – 4 

Francely Lomboto – 4