shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out


Galway United make the short trip to the Markets Field on Saturday evening for a league clash with Limerick. Kick-off: 6.30pm.

The Tribesmen were pegged back by Longford Town at the City Calling Stadium on Monday night in a rearranged fixture. Longford raced into a 2-0 lead early in the first half – substitute Shane Doherty pulled a goal back for the visitors, but United couldn’t find a late leveller.

Limerick were held to a 1-1 draw by Athlone Town on Friday night when Kealan Dillon’s opener was cancelled out by Limerick striker Connor Ellis.

Galway United and Limerick have already met once at Eamonn Deacy Park this season and Sean McSweeney decided an even game with a close range finish for Limerick.

United manager Alan Murphy is looking for his players to get back to winning ways when they travel to the Markets Field on Saturday evening.

“The lads will learn hugely from the Longford game,” Murphy told

“They will see that 20 minutes of damage can dictate and decide a game. After that opening period, I thought we were the side that were going forward and creating the chances in the game.

“We gave ourselves too much to do and we just couldn’t get that second goal.

“We’re coming up against an experienced Limerick side on Saturday, who have done well so far.

“We have to be on our game. We have to start the game properly. We shouldn’t react, we should be proactive in our approach to the game.

“It’s a learning curve for a lot of these players. They’re possibly just realising what it means to try and perform week in, week out.

“It’s good to be working with a group that are trying so hard.”

Conor Melody serves the final game of his three match suspension against Limerick.

He’s joined on the sideline by Andrew Peters (ankle), Adam Rooney (foot), Donal Higgins and Colin Kelly (Leaving Cert commitments), Joe Collins (knee), Jeff McGowan (hamstring) and Conor Layng (cruciate ligament).

Referee: Ray Matthews
Assistant: Dermot Broughton
Assistant: Rafal Pieper
Fourth Official: Graham Kelly