shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

Keady finalises Under-19 squad

Newly appointed Galway United under-19 Manager Nigel Keady has put the finishing touches on his 2017 squad.

The former United defender has also finalised his backroom team, bringing Niall Corbett and Gerry Heaney in as coaches. Former teammate Mark Cobey also joins as goalkeeping coach. David O’Leary continues as kitman.

Eight players from last years squad, who reached the final of the under-19 league, have re-signed with United for 2017. Ciaran Buckley, Ciaran Nugent, Connor High, Dara Mulgannon, Evan Murphy, James Tierney, Maurice Nugent and Mikey Whelan worked with Nigel Keady and Johnny Glynn, now head of Football Development at the club, last year.

Kevin Daly, Adam Gilbert, Cian Dunne, Evan Reen, Christopher Horgan, and Evan Coyne join from Salthill Devon.

Ronan Manning and Cian Mulryan join from Mervue United.

Aaron Leggett, Mikey Lynch, and Aidan Coyle join from Athenry, Ramblers United and West United respectively. Oisin O’Sullivan moves from Tipperary side Nenagh AFC.

Cathal Carney joins from Connacht neighbours Sligo Rovers, meanwhile Declan Sharkey, who is also available for United’s first team, moves to Eamonn Deacy Park from Finn Harps.

Nigel Keady told that was very pleased with the squad assembled.

“We’ve brought some some quality players in to compliment the existing players in the squad, we’ve added to the quality of the group. I believe we’ve got a good mix of ability and age. There is a good level of continuity in the squad also.

“There is a pathway for the players at the club. The players can see the opportunity that is there for them to make the step up. It’s a credit to Shane Keegan that seven under-19s are involved in the first team this year. Players will get the chance to progress if they perform well for the under-19s.”

– James Tierney (GK)
– Cian Mulryan (GK)
– Aaron Leggett
– Adam Gilbert
– Aidan Coyle
– Cathal Carney
– Christopher Horgan
– Cian Dunne
– Ciaran Buckley
– Ciaran Nugent
– Connor High
– Dara Mulgannon
– Declan Sharkey
– Evan Coyne
– Evan Murphy
– Evan Reen
– Kevin Daly
– Maurice Nugent
– Mikey Lynch
– Mikey Whelan
– Oisin O’Sullivan
– Ronan Manning